Fostering fluency in 2012

Well, this one has been brewing for a bit. I start, I stop, I lose my train of thought. Oh if I could only insert a zip drive thingie into my head sometimes! Maybe then I wouldn’t lose the thought before it gets from my brain to the keyboard!

I just posted a video I made with my class. It documented the process of one of our projects. After I attended #cmk11 w @garystager it became all about process for me. I knew beforehand that learning, real learning, is in those visible yet invisible moments. Visible to the teacher who can see the lightbulb, visible to the parent who can reflect and see the progress their child is making, but often invisible to the person themselves. And what is rewarded in our lives and society is often the product, thereby obscuring this mysterious stage even more.

I’ve come to think of it as the sleep mode, or the chunky mode a kid goes through when growing. They go from a little chunky to suddenly shooting up and going through three shoe sizes in two months! It’s this time of seeming stagnation, our nightly sleep, the winter, that helps us spring forward and burst forth the bloom of our efforts and work.

And everyone grows and changes at their own rates! Which is why what I teach a child now may not embed itself until much later, or why values parents instill in their child at a young age will suddenly surface as their Mom’s voice calls out from somewhere inside their head “don’t do it”. Just because something is dormant doesn’t mean it isn’t as alive and vibrant as a forsythia in full bloom. Dormancy is the yin to forsythia’s yang. It works this way in learning, too. 

It’s why we need vacations and summer and weekends. And it’s why I shun terms like “continuous improvement”. True improvement (a word I find derogatory btw) really doesn’t look all that continuous, at least within a span of one, two or three years. And certainly the more you improve, the lesser are the measurable increments of that improvement.

I think about my own learning when it comes to technology. I look back a year ago and reflect and think, “I didn’t even have a blog yet!”

True! At least the #kinderchat blog didn’t get up and running until January of last year. Wow! I look back and see all I have done, learned, made in just a year! Amazing I must say so myself! Now I have 3 wikis, 3 blogs, 4 websites and 5 twitter accounts. There’s more but it starts getting embarrassing. :D

I by no means- NO MEANS even consider myself “proficient” in technology, but I would say I feel “fluent” or at least approaching some degree of fluency! And fluency is the whole reason this blog post came to be.

Did it all happen in one year? Well, sort of, but if you look at the extended timeline, it started years ago. But once I broke through that initial barrier, things got way easier and my confidence and curiosity, way stronger.

So often we try to teach (teachers, children, students, anyone anything) by instruction. I am beginning to recoil at the word! “Here, let me instruct you on how to do it. Oh, and btw, here is my 16 page outline of my guidelines and policy on how to be successful within the given instruction time.” In the past, we called this learning. In the present, we are often forced to call this teaching as well.

There is a huge difference between the word “instruction” and the word “foster“. I was thinking about this in the car today on the way home from school. One is hard, the other soft. One is teacher centered, the other requires the teacher to be learner centered enough to know what to even foster. The past is sharp edged categoried boxes vs the now of circles and swerves.

And who has fostered me? Helped me? Been my guiding light over the last year? The fabulous teachers, educators and friends of #kinderchat and the mentors I have found here on the internets!

I am very grateful to all who have shaped my learning and helped me “feel fluent” in technology and in life. Here’s hoping 2012 brings the world and each one of you more joy and fluency in whatever field you choose and more love in life and learning!

2 thoughts on “Fostering fluency in 2012

  1. Such a great post! After studying in Reggio Emilia, I too began to feel that (documenting) the process is a really vital part of classroom learning for both teachers and students. I like your perspective on dormancy and valuing the wait time that we need to give children as they engage with a process and slowly, often only internally, begin to understand different parts of it in new and exciting ways. And congratulations on all of the amazing work you’ve done with technology – 3 wikis, 3 blogs, 4 websites, and 5 twitter accounts is beyond impressive! I would definitely say you have a strong tech fluency and really appreciate your fostering of my own blog and the awesome #kinderchat discussions and community!

Leave a Reply

